Suzanne Kraft, Bullion and Kero Kero Bonito feature on DEEK cover album

Suzanne Kraft, Bullion, Kero Kero Bonito and Minor Science feature on “Covered In Gloria” cover album from DEEK Recordings

Fourteen artists cover tracks from Roy Orbison, Joe Jackson, Oasis, Wham!, Kim Wilde and more

In what’s to become an annual tradition, DEEK Recordings release their third covers compilation. Label head, Nathan Jenkins (Bullion), pulls in a set of diverse versions especially commissioned for ‘Covered In Gloria’. Label favourites Thool rub shoulders with Canadian crooner Sean Nicholas Savage, Suzanne Kraft, Israel’s best, Red Axes and PC Music associates Kero Kero Bonito.

Starting at the back, Eyedress & friend strip down Beastie Boys’ adolescent romp ‘Girls’ to heart-warming, Daniel-Johnston-demo feels. More playfulness comes from Reckonwrong and Red Axes, both opting to twist and obscure the vocals in their respective takes on Beverley Craven and Kim Wilde. Others are more upfront - Kero Kero Bonito serve Oasis with a crystal clear but nevertheless nutty J-pop version of ‘Rock n Roll Star’. Newcomers ALASKALASKA collaborate with Bullion for sexy (saxy) classic ‘A Girl Like You’. While Geller & Kaya offer a 2 for 1 Wham! dub experience, again with Bullion on production.

Elsewhere, Minor Science makes his singing debut, bravely taking on The Blue Nile; another vocal first and Germanic turn comes from Suzanne Kraft; Thool translate Joe Jackson’s ‘Stepping Out’ in more ways than one. Not to mention dancier fashions from Sultan Shakes and LXURY, plus Bullion’s own electronic slant on J.J. Cale’s trouble-free ‘Friday’.

Back to the front again where Sean Nicholas Savage & Better Person join Never in giving glory to suave dappers Julio Iglesias and Roy Orbison.


DEEK Recordings
Various Artists - Covered In Gloria

Release date: 08/09/17

Track List:
1. Never - Communication Breakdown
2. Sean Nicholas Savage & Better Person - Moonlight Lady
3. Thool w/ Marieke - Je Sors (Stepping Out) 04:50
4. Minor Science - Heatwave
5. Kero Kero Bonito - Rock n Roll Star
6. Suzanne Kraft - Nordsee
7. Red Axes - Fly To Colombia
8. LXURY w/ AV - Interlock
9. ALASKALASKA - A Girl Like You
10. Bullion - Friday
11. Reckonwrong - Promise Me
12. Sultan Shakes - Oud Ou Ray
13. Geller & Kaya - Wham Rap (Enjoy What You Do)
14. Eyedress - Girls

Stream Thool w/ Marieke - Je Sors (Stepping Out) here


London Launch Party

Developer notes.

lang: EN