Dekmantel Festival 2018 Announces Line-up

Dekmantel has launched the 2018 line-up for their Amsterdam festival, which takes place during the first 5 days of August. The sixth edition will be held in the Amsterdamse Bos and in various locations around the IJ-river. The festival customarily makes way for contemporary tastemakers and emerging talent, without losing sight of dance music’s legacy and roots. Wednesday starts with concerts by electronic music pioneers Tangerine Dream and Four Tet. Further highlights include LA bass player Thundercat, UK rave outfit Orbital, iconic American composer Terry Riley, and techno super group LSD. DJ-sets by Helena Hauff, Ricardo Villalobos, Jah Shaka, Daphni, Lena Willikens, Jamie XX and Modeselektor are confirmed too.

Detroit veteran Carl Craig presents his Versus Synthesizer Ensemble, Stones Throw’s Dam-Funk, Young Marco, and Warp aficionado Clark line up for live shows while concert acts on the Thursday include Laaraji, Unit Moebius, John Maus, Alessandro Cortini and Yasuaki Shimizu. The Amsterdamse Bos in the mean time will see exciting debuts from Errorsmith, Insanlar, Mr Scruff and JASSS. Dekmantel regulars Objekt, Donato Dozzy, and Floating Points are awarded closing sets on respectively the UFO, Greenhouse, and Selectors stage.

The festival site will largely remain familiar to those who’ve made the visit previously, but there will be some tweaking when it comes to the site and stages as well. This year the festival will host a second, small-scaled UFO stage (that will be known as UFO II), to foster more dark and experimental sounds that usually blossom in intimate clubs. Phase Fatale, DJ Stingray and Samuel Kerridge are amongst the artists scheduled here.

An overview of the line-up, which will be concluded with a small batch of artists later in the year, can be found on the festival website. The program was revealed earlier today via an artistic video made by Studio Crême, scored by Palmbomen II. Lastly, going along with the announcement are six podcasts provided by artists playing the festival: Broken English Club, Skatebård, Ece Özel, Terence Fixmer, Patrick Russell, and Job Sifre, which can be found on the Dekmantel SoundCloud.

For more information about the program, ticketing and festival campsite check

Watch the announcement video here

Developer notes.

lang: EN