Dekmantel presents two final anniversary EPs (Tony Allen, Ricardo Villalobos, MCDE)

Dekmantel is proud to presents the final records in their ten-part anniversary series. Split into two parts due to its immensity, the final instalment is a re-issue of Tony Allen’s ‘Asiko (In A Silent Mix)’ - which was originally released in 1999 - with remixes by Motor City Drum Ensemble and Ricardo Villalobos. The EPs drop on March 26 (part one) and April 30 (part two).

The first part features a grandiose 29-minute Ricardo Villalobos version of the Afrobeat master’s cut. Having been a regular at Dekmantel Festival, Villalobos delivers a remix, one of his longest to date that only he can produce. Allowing the percussion to breathe into a monumental rhythm, Villalobos warps the vocals, restructuring the bass and drums into a rolling dub-fusion of techno that is characteristic of his remixes to date, yet still breathtaking in its execution. Afrobeat-minimalism, with dub-infused fire, and near psychedelic ambience that perfectly synchs the worlds of Tony Allen and Ricardo Villalobos, two legends who’ve helped re-shape the face of music.

Part two of the EP features the Motor City Drum Ensemble remix, and the original “In A Silent Mix” version from 1999; a track out of its time when released on Allen’s sole record “Black Voices”. A long serving Dekmantel veteran, Danilo Plessow was there from the start. After compiling the first Selectors compilation last year, Plessow turns Tony Allen’s masterpiece in a jam, with added house beats, giving the funk number the edit treatment. The final mix sounds like the kind of track you would hear him play in one of his sets as he’s firing up the heat. The organ sounds and trumpets are left high in the mix, to create an unforgettable hook that resonates throughout, in complete Motor City style.

Release Info:

A1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Ricardo Villalobos Remix Part 1)
B1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Ricardo Villalobos Remix Part 2)
Release Date: 26/03/2018
Format: 12” EP
Stream Clips here
Pre-Order here

A1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Motor City Drum Ensemble Remix)
B1. Tony Allen – Asiko (In A Silent Mix) (Original Mix)
Release Date: 30/04/2018
Format: 12” EP
Stream Clips here



Developer notes.

lang: EN