Lyon-based experimental producer Flore announces sophomore LP

The producer, promoter, label-head, and DJ will release Rituals through her own POLAAR imprint, April 7th

Propelled by curiosity and meticulosity throughout the last two decades, Flore built her musical journey guided by risk and generous creativity. While her musical and cultural roots go back to Jamaican sound systems, breaks, and drum and bass, her musical tastes cover an even wider territory that ranges from Pink Floyd to Sun O))). This constant interest for new forms and sounds stands behind her journey to the live artist she is now, from DJ to producer, to being the first woman Ableton certified trainer in France.

Rituals, Flore’s second album, is the map of a new continent and worrisome dark lands inhabited by primal energy. 10 musical pieces, 10 clues shaping a musical territory where nothing is given, where everything has to be conquered. From ‘Aether’ to ‘You Were Here’, Rituals explores multiple facets of electronic music crafted with meticulosity. It seems here that every step of Flore’s journey to this second album, every influence, every idea, every reference is digested, understood, reinterpreted and feeds into new shapes, layers of textures, indented rhythmics, and menacing bass lines.

Rituals is a sharp piece of work by Flore, the accumulation of 20 years of work, experiments, encounters, and curiosity, all knitted together in these 10 pieces of music. This album is the outcome of 5 years of work, launched with the eponym audio/visual live performance and prolongated by 3 EP’s released on POLAAR. Rituals, even if dark in its essence, transpires with savage energy, and opens doors to new musical landscapes, constantly oscillating between interrupted daydreaming and furious dancing. Altogether, Rituals draws the portrait of a threatened universe healing in collective sarabands.


Flore - Rituals

Release Date: April 7th
Formats: Vinyl, Digital

Track List:
01. Aether
02. Coded Language
03. Evidence
04. Rituals
05. Numen
06. Psykhé Part 3
07. Sigui So
08. Thousand Years
09. Congos
10. You Were Here

Stream ‘Coded Language’ via Soundcloud

Developer notes.

lang: EN