UK label Python Syndicate team up with Ghanian streetwear brand Free The Youth for a capsule collaboration

The compilation features new tracks from HAGAN, Kofi Mole, KG, Kayso, T’Neeya, Blaq Pages, and more

Free Borga is a capsule collaboration across music and fashion between Ghanaian based streetwear brand Free The Youth and Crudo Volta/Python Syndicate.

The project is inspired by the Ghanaian Borga Highlife genre where a number of talented musicians used music as a medium to reaffirm their African identity after relocating to Europe and the USA.

This original music compilation of the same name features producers and artists who share dual heritage from the African continent to the West. It also mirrors the call and response musician feedback Africa and the diaspora across seminal styles of Highlife and Afrobeat to newer sonic reincarnations via Afrobeats, Afrofusion, Amapiano, UK Funky and more.

The featured artists include Accra’s T’Neeya, Ghana’s next big rapper Kofi Mole, La Même Gang affiliated $pacely, Proud Team artist KaySo, London Afro and Tribal House producer KG, Gobstopper Records affiliate HAGAN and Los Angeles producer DJ Blaq pages who enlists fellow Blackstarrs Kirant Ayat and BiQo of SuperJazzClub. Lagos-based artist Dapo Tuburna dedicates her track ‘Black Girl Magic’ to Breonna Taylor and black women worldwide citing them to shine.

For the capsule collection, Free The Youth was inspired by the laminated medieval font messages are what you would typically see on taxis and trotros vehicles in Ghana, often found on the back they serve as spiritual insurance and guidance however near or far your journey is.

Founded in 2013 by Jonathan Coffie and Kelly Foli, Free The Youth is a collective of creative minds determined to empower the youth of Africa. The brand has since expanded into a learning institute for art based inspiring youths with its Ghetto University in Tema, Ghana. Previous support includes VOGUE, Highsnobiety and OkayAfrica as well as being championed by Virgil Abloh.

V/A - Free Borga: Heave’s Gate No Bribe

Release date: 30th October 2020

Track List:
01. Kayso - 6 AM
02. T’Neeya - Free Your Mind
03. Kofi Mole - Baby Legend
04. KG - Kele
05. Dapo Tuburna - Black Girl Magic
06. Blaq Pages - Gossip feat. Kirant Ayat and BiQo
07. HAGAN - Coastline
08. $pacely - Attention

Listen to ‘Baby Legend’ by Kofi Mole on Soundcloud

Pictured: Kofi Mole


Python Syndicate

Developer notes.

lang: EN