Dial Records announce new Irakli LP 'Major Signals'

Irakli was born in Georgia when the country was still a part of the Soviet Union. He moved to Cologne before ending up in Berlin a decade ago and has been an active and interesting voice in the electronic music and club landscape of the city. First as a DJ and producer behind the I/Y and Intergalactic Research Institute For Sound labels, but also as one of the minds behind the STAUB collective. His artistic endeavors have brought him to contribute to books, exhibitions and movies. He has performed with classical orchestras and worked with artists and thinkers from all fields. He hasn’t been afraid to take a stance politically - in 2019 he collaborated with fellow Georgian producer Michailo whilst he was imprisoned. But most importantly, he loves the music, making it, sharing it, listening to it, dancing to it, and now he is presenting us with his first album on Dial.

Once upon a time, two operators stared at their screens. They sat silently for hours, their whole being dedicated to the task they had been assigned to. Days and nights passed in the same monotonous manner.

Suddenly signals showed up on their monitors. Alarms started to ring.

Both reacted at the same speed and did what they were supposed to do. Controls and commands were entered, as was protocol. After observing these waves for 61:01 minutes, everything became quiet again.

What they had just witnessed made them wonder. For the first time they addressed each other. “The data is transferring through our system,” announced the first. “Let us both check how this can be interpreted.” The second validated the response. Together, they looked at what had been recorded. Ideas raced through their complicated minds until they realized simultaneously: sounds! They listened.

“Is this an unknown language?” one asked.
“This is the first time this has been heard throughout our history,” the other answered.
They listened again and again.
“This electricity has been arranged to form a cohesive entity,” the first said.
“Why would machines be used to create that?” the second mused.
Something had awakened inside of them, an obsessive curiosity they had never experienced before. They did not understand and were blown away by the beauty of it.
“Do you think it could have been left by humans before us?” one whispered.
“If it was, these would be Major Signals,” the other concluded.
As they processed these thoughts, the two artificial intelligences sat still.

Dial Records

Irakli - Major Signals

Release Date: 19 March 2021
Format: Vinyl & Digital

01. Forever
02. Blessings From The Future
03. Major Signals
04. OP 9
05. Sin
06. This Way
07. Circles
08. Surface
09. Black Windows
10. Memories
11. Selfupdate

Watch the video for ‘Major Signals’ on YouTube or stream the track on Soundcloud

Developer notes.

lang: EN