Joe Armon-Jones launches new label Aquarii with solo single 'Pray'

Out Now

London-based keyboard virtuoso, composer and producer Joe Armon-Jones returns with ‘Pray’, a single that launches his new label, Aquarii Records. Aquarii will be a home for all of Joe’s forthcoming solo releases and collaborative work.

Effortlessly fusing soul, hip hop, jazz and funk influences, ‘Pray’ features Morgan Simpson of Black Midi on drums alongside Luke Wynter of Nubiyan Twist on bass. It will also see a physical release on 10” vinyl with an exclusive vinyl only track on the b-side ‘Nothing Move’ and the artwork is by regular collaborator Divya Scialo.

“Pray was an outtake at the end of a long day of recording dubs with Morgan and Luke, it was an idea I had written in the morning before they arrived and because there was half an hour left at the end of the session we ran a take of this and Pray is what came out.”

Joe’s vision with Aquarii is “a home for the music that is around me; somewhere it can live and somewhere it can flourish”. In 2021 Joe will be releasing collaborations with extended family Fatima, Mala and Hak Baker.

Between his highly acclaimed solo work and his work with the influential Ezra Collective, Joe Armon-Jones is at the epicentre of the London underground scene and has recently collaborated with the late Tony Allen, Mahalia, Nubya Garcia, Greentea Peng, Poppy Ajudha, Moses Boyd and Ego Ella May.


Joe Armon-Jones - Pray

Release Date: 05 May 2021
Format: 10” Vinyl & Digital

Digital Tracklist:
1. Pray
2. Pray - Edit

Vinyl Tracklist:
A1. Pray
B1. Nothing Move (Vinyl Exclusive)

Watch the visualiser on YouTube

Developer notes.

lang: EN