Lone reveals first DJ-Kicks exclusive track ‘Saturday Night’

Ten years after his first release, UK artist Lone is putting out his first ever commercial mix CD. His entry into the celebrated DJ-kicks series lands on 29th September and features four of his own new and exclusive tracks. Today he shares the first exclusive track ‘Saturday Night’: a swirling, pad-laced groove full of summery warmth.

Born Matt Cutler and raised in Nottingham, Lone has emerged as a standout artist over the last decade. Starting out making hip hop, he has distinctly evolved with each new release. Yet whether making house, breakbeat or jungle, his music always remains identifiable thanks to its bright melodic colours.

This mix represents Lone as a producer: it starts out with the hip hop of his roots, then moves through some of the music of his childhood and on to a range of his enduring influences. Along the way, he stitches in his own newly produced sounds. “I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone with this,”: he says. “I’m so used to programming my own material on my own albums, that’s sort of how I approached this one.” Purposefully mixed in “a loose, rough way” in his living room on a pair of CDJs, the idea was to make listeners feel like there were in there with him. It’s designed for dreamy late night listening, or intimate headphone sessions, and “plays out a bit like a weird midnight radio show: it’s purposefully all over the place, dreamy and trippy, so you can zone in and out.” Lone’s DJ-kicks very much feels alive, lived-in and authentic. It is a hugely personal view into his unique musical world and marks another landmark entry into !K7’s long running series.

Lone - DJ-kicks
Format: CD / 2LP / Download / Stream

01. Casino Versus Japan - Go Hawaii
02. Heralds Of Change – Spotted
03. Lone - Brooklyn Banks
04. Camu Tao - Hold The Floor
05. Lootpack – Hityawitdat
06. Lone - Cali Drought
07. Lone - Alpha Wheel 4 (Ambient Mix)
08. Boards of Canada - Orange Romeda
09. Gnork – U
10. John Beltran (presents Nostalgic) - Placid Angles
11. Lone – Arc
12. E. Myers - Untitled (Main Mix)
13. Protect-U - Double Rainbow
14. Lone - Saturday Night (DJ-Kicks)
15. Ross From Friends - The Outsiders
16. Drexciya - Bubble Metropolis
17. Balil - Choke and Fly
18. Radiohead - Worrywort

A1 Casino Versus Japan - Go Hawaii
A2 Heralds of Change – Spotted
A3 Camu Tao - Hold the Floor
B1 Lone - Brooklyn Banks
B2 Boards of Canada - Orange Romeda
B3 Radiohead – Worrywort
C1 Gnork – U
C2 John Beltran - Placid Angels
D1 Lone - Saturday Night (DJ-Kicks)
D2 Balil - Choke and Fly

A1 Lone - Saturday Night (DJ-Kicks)
B1 - Lone – Arc
B2 - Lone - Alpha Wheel 4 (Ambient Mix)

Listen here

Developer notes.

lang: EN