Philipp Gorbachev announces new LP + Live premiere at Outline Moscow

Philipp Gorbachev will release ‘Unlock The Box’ LP via his own PG Tune label 27 June, with live premiere at OUTLINE Festival in Moscow to follow on 2 July 2016.

Philipp Gorbachev’s sophomore solo album continues the narrative of his previously released trilogy on Cómeme, at the same time it celebrates standing as the debut LP on PG TUNE. From imaginary places like The Delta, down to the dirty District, and with reverence for the realm of Russian avant-garde heritage, ‘Unlock The Box’ pictures a static and demodulated dance floor. Welcome to the 5th New Century.

Finding ourselves in a confusing time, the essential urge and necessity to communicate love becomes as exhausting as hunting for diesel in Mad Max. The remains of global capitalism’s overkill and marginal religious fanatics merge together as the ultimate threat to the human experience and can remind us that things can so easily spin out of control. We are also reminded of our elemental humanity; the need for love and dedication to each other, which can be so easy to forget when we lock our own boxes.

‘Unlock The Box’ embodies the sound of a passionate young human being forced to create new tools to secure human existence in the future. In the 5th New Century, only one rule counts: love is limitless.

With the recording process involving a wide range of digital and analog instruments, PG approached the album with his signature hybrid production. Similarly, his lyrics on travel between both English and Russian, continuing the innovative linguistic style from the ‘Silver Album’.

Early versions of these tracks have been field tested during a Russian PG tour last year, and take inspiration from the morning dance floor vibes and feelings. These experiences helped shape the concept of #DAYTIMERAVING: not a time of day, but an attitude. That light which shines independently from day or night, on a dancefloor and outside of it.

Love is the message.

1. 5th New Century ft. Polina ­ В Пятом Новом Веке
2. Without You ft. Polina & Interchain ­ Без Тебя
3. Orbit ­ Сколько Ещё Вёрст
4. Lazer ­ Лазер
5. Ivan, Come On, Unlock, The Box ­ Иван, Давай, Открой Коробку
6. Light and Sound ­ Свет и Звук
7. 5th New Century (Version)
8. Orbit (Version)
VINYL ONLY: To The Last Station ­ До Последней

Format: Limited Edition Vinyl, Digital

Philipp Gorbachev will headline the main floor of OUTLINE Festival in Moscow with a brand new live show, for the first time ever performing the album with Octatrack and Tempest, among other machines included in the setup. The A/V show is created together with the team of OUTLINE and SILA SVETA, the leading Moscow interactive media production collective.

Listen to the track ‘5th New Century ft. Polina’ on Soundcloud

Developer notes.

lang: EN