Dekmantel announce new Tom Trago album

Dekmantel presents new Tom Trago album ‘Bergen’, out 2nd April 2018

Dekmantel is proud to present Tom Trago’s new album Bergen, which is the next and natural step in the expanding career of the Dutch producer. With a new studio and approach to music, the release is Trago sounding at his very finest, returning to his roots with a focussed, and dedicated production ethos. The LP hits the stores on April 2.

A staple in the Amsterdam club scene, Tom Trago has been a familiar face at the Dekmantel events for over ten years and their relationship allowed him the space to grow and finish his most accomplished and honest album to date Bergen, which connects his legacy, family and commitment to dance music in one resplendent package. Having relocated from Amsterdam, Tom Trago set up his new studio in the coastal town of Bergen, located in the northern Netherlands, to record in his family house. The album was made with the aim of re-creating a global-music sound, along with the music that has influenced him throughout his life, with a new approach influenced by Trago’s immediate natural environment.

The spacey-passively-paced LP intro ‘Bergen’ was the first to be picked up by Dekmantel’s Casper Tielrooij, yet it was the electro- orientated ‘Zeeweg’ that became the template for the rest of the record. ‘Zeeweg’ is followed up by ‘The Creation of Lalibela’, which plays on the world music vibe with ethereal and fun key patterns, influenced by the work of Mulatu Astatke. On the flip side, ‘Always Be With you’ is one of the LP’s standout tracks, epitomising the new album’s country settings, and featuring his girlfriend on vocals. Trago sticks to his dance floor roots with ‘Faith Belongs to Us’, while album closer ‘Working Machines’ plays with resonance and atmospherics, creating a moody, pulsing yet stylish rhythm.

Tom Trago - Bergen
Release date: 02 April 2018
Format: 2x12” LP + Digital

Track List:
A1. Bergen
A2. The Creation Of Lalibela
A3. Zeeweg
B1. Faith Belongs To Us
B2. Always Be With You
B3. Underwater Wings
C1. Morph
C2. The Interval Of Happiness
D1. Fari
D2. Working Machines

Pre-order / stream clips here



Developer notes.

lang: EN